Posted by: Cat of Sunshine and Siestas | June 25, 2009

A Coruna Bound

It’s here – my last sweaty week in Sevilla. The lazy summer groove has officially given away to scramble and panic: Packing and moving my things into Sanne’s room, a whirlwind of despedidas (goodbyes) and trying to spend as much time with Kike as I can before he goes pirate hunting again. Coupled with the heat and late nights, it’s been pretty much impossible to accomplish anything, most specifically my lesson planning for camp!

Next Thursday or Friday (still unclear when and HOW I’m getting to A Coruna), I’ll be starting my job at Forenex Summer English camps. I was placed with 15 year olds. NIGHTMARE. These kids, according to the website with their levels, are aiming for fluency, meaning I have to teach the things I dread most: Relative clauses, reported speech, conditionals. VOMIT. The coursework is more or less laid out for us, but it’s up to us to provide additional materials, tools, activities, etc. I’m stressed out just thinking about it, and I haven’t even started packing my school supplies away. I’m hesitant to do too much planning without knowing the kids and their likes and dislikes, but I suppose the smaller group size and strict cirriculum will be helpful.

One thing that was a little alarming was the one page about how the first day of class should be run, testing levels and doing a grammar review, while there were close to five about discipline. Whyyyy did I say I didn’t want to teach little kids?!
The bad news from all of this is that a) I’m home later than I would have been (today, June 25th), and that b) Kike is no longer taking me up because I’ll be working a lot more than I was led on to believe. I asked about weekends. I was told, until 12pm saturday teaching, then meeting, then you’re free until sunday at 2am when we have to make sure you’re accounted for. The first weekend is full of meetings, placements tests, etc., so Kike has decided to not drive all that way to not see me and just use his airline miles to buy me a one-way ticket. I can’t say I blame him. I feel horrible that he had to fanagle his way out of two abroad missions to keep his promise to take me, meaning he has less flight time before Somalia and will likely have to do similar missions later.
So, I’m off to discipline little kids and eat seafood and Tarta de Santiago!
Responses

  1. Good luck on your move, Cat. When do we get to see pictures of Croatia?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

