Posted by: Cat of Sunshine and Siestas | March 31, 2009

On my way to becoming a Spanish housewife

I have a very strict regime in the afternoon: Classes are conducted at the same time and place every week, showers are blocked out in one-hour time slots and nearly every night ends with beer at La Grande followed by kebabs and mushrooms at Las Golondrinas. When it comes to, which bed do I sleep in? the answer is, five times out of seven, at Kike’s apartment across town.

Last night, Julian and I said goodbye outside the Hotel Occidental and I called Kike. He told me to come to his house for dinner and to let myself in, as he would likely still be at the supermarket. When he returned home, I asked, “What’s for dinner?” and he chucked three plastic bags full of food onto the counter and said, “Your turn!” before lighting up a cigarette and turning on the TV.

I cook about 2% of the time we eat together, so I figured it was finally time I did it. I had our hamburger patties, four buns, 17 slices of packaged cheese, four tomatoes, a pack of bacon, half an onion, a green pepper, a clove of garlic and a cucumber in front of me.

“Gazpacho and hamburgers it is, then,” I remarked, fuming a little because I had slaved over a box of premade brownies the afternoon before. The hamburgers I had down and felt pressured to make well (it is the most American of foods, afterall), and the gazpacho I had seen done a million times. I figured it was my last chance to impress him before he wrote me off as an absolute disaster in the kitchen.

Thankfully, he stood over me and instructed me on what to do, when to add more water. He said, “Ha salido estupendo,” it turned out great. PHEW.

Gazpacho (cold tomato soup)
4 medium sized tomatoes
1 green pepper, deseeded
1 cucumber
1 cove garlic
a lot of olive oil
about half as much vinegar
salt to taste

Cut vegetables and garlic into chunks and throw into a blender
Add a lot of olive oil, half as much vinegar and two large pinches of salt
Add about half a cup of water
Put blender on some kind of setting that will allow you to blend the ingredients, adding more water if necessary
If large chunks of veggies, skin, remain, use a strainer and a blunt mortar to extract the liquid as neccessary
Chill overnight and serve in glasses

Then again, everything in Spain is difficult due to lack of materials, so I don’t think I could ever cook in America. Buen provecho!

Responses

  1. Our soup at the restaurant where I’m working has been Gazpacho lately! I love it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

